Malala: Save My Nigerian Sisters

TIME

It makes me sad to think that almost a month has gone by since more than 200 girls were kidnapped by the Nigerian terrorist group Boko Haram. These are innocent young schoolgirls with their whole lives ahead of them. They have families who are going through unimaginable pain. Their only crime was no different than my own: all they wanted was to get an education.

“I abducted your girls. I will sell them in the market, by Allah,” said Abubakar Shekau, the man they say is Boko Haram’s leader. I felt sick when I read this. What has the world come to? These people kidnap girls and then threaten to sell them! And in the name of religion? These extremist and brutal activities are against the teaching of Allah. Islam is a religion of peace, where women are respected and education is valued above all. As Prophet Mohammed (Peace be…

View original post 400 more words

Leave a Reply

