Restaurant review: La Trompette

A little while ago, I had the pleasure of visiting a lovely restaurant called La Trompette for my birthday. Situated in the leafy suburb of Chiswick, West London; the restaurant has become well-known over the last 13 years for serving award-winning fantastic food in subtly-chic surroundings.

For my main, I had pork belly – which is one of my favourite dishes, so I was suitably impressed when this arrived:

wpid-20140512_202135.jpg

It was divine, and possibly the most succulent, well-prepared pork belly I’ve ever tasted.

Sadly because of an allergy, my dessert options meant going for a sorbet instead of one of their cakes. However, the staff were incredibly accommodating. When dessert arrived, the waiter placed it down whilst casually saying “here is your sorbet Madam, with a little bit of chocolate on the side”

wpid-20140512_210702.jpg

Of course, they had been told it was my birthday by my partner when the booking was made – they’re not psychic.. at least I don’t think they are *side glance*

Coupled with the refreshing, zingy taste of the fresh sorbet, the waiter helped us round off our evening perfectly! The service throughout the evening was extremely professional and attentive, but without being overbearing. I think this is extremely important in a restaurant.

La Trompette is now one of my favourite restaurants, and I’d recommend it for a special occasion. It’s really easy to get to (Turnham Green station is about a 5-10 minute walk, or by bus from Hammersmith, Acton, Gunnersbury or Richmond), and the food and ambience makes it so worth it.

Website: http://www.latrompette.co.uk

Nearest stations: Turnham Green (District Line) or Gunnersbury (District Line, London Overground)

Leave a Reply

