Countdown to Sziget 2014!

Tomorrow afternoon, I’ll be setting off to the culturally abundant capital of Hungary, Budapest. For some reason (partly because of pre-holiday childlike excitement, and partly because George Ezra has a beautiful voice), I can’t help but think of this song:

Continuing the theme of 2014 being a year of music, I’ll be heading to the magical myriad of music, art and culture that is Sziget Festival while I’m in Budapest!

Set on the island of Obudai-sziget, the festival started in 1993, and has continued to get bigger and better every year. It’s now a week long, with hundreds of acts from around the world performing over the course of 7 days, which kicks off tomorrow. The variety of acts they get from around the world is amazing, and the festival itself has been compared to Glastonbury. Michael Eavis, the organiser of Glasto, visited Sziget in 2012, and was quoted as saying:

“Sziget is a fantastic festival, more colourful and probably a lot cleaner than Glastonbury”

I still haven’t been to Glasto, but I’m expecting wonderful things this week!

As someone with a taste in music that could perhaps be described as somewhat eclectic – I’m not afraid to admit that I have a pretty varied music taste, even though some of it may be a bit questionable 😉 – the line up for Sziget 2014 is unbelievable:

Sziget 14

Some of the acts would be amazing to see, especially The Prodigy, La Roux (her comeback this year is set to be special), Bombay Bicycle Club, Michael Kiwanuka (who I saw supporting Emeli Sande a couple of years ago in London. Really talented acoustic musician.), Klaxons, The Kooks, Macklemore…. oh, I could go on! Alas, I’m going on the Tuesday and Wednesday of the festival, and plan to fit as many bands in as possible, including:

Tuesday

Queens of the Stone Age: One of the most poignant bands of my teenage years, I’ve loved QOTSA for a long time… possibly bordering on an overly keen following! Sziget will be the fourth time I’ve seen them, after Wireless in 2007, Southampton Guildhall in 2008 – which ended with me meeting Josh Homme after the show and possibly cementing my love for the band a little bit more, and then seeing them again at Reading Festival later that year. Particularly excited to hear their most recent album …Like Clockwork in full.

Brody Dalle: I first got into Brody when she was in The Distillers back in the day, so it’ll be great to hear her solo material. Drain the Blood was also a high school favourite of mine – I may have been somewhat angsty in my younger years!

Deadmau5: It wouldn’t be a festival without a bit of a rave, surely?!

Jimmy Eat World: Got to love a bit of retro pop-punk! The Middle brings back some great memories.

Wednesday

Jake Bugg: I saw Jake play at British Summer Time in London’s Hyde Park last month, and he’s great live – well worth a watch.

The Big Pink

Imagine Dragons: Saw these guys at Optimus Alive last month, and they were great – Demons and Radioactive were especially good live.

Placebo: Too excited. Again, my love of Placebo may have sprung from my teen angst phase! Nancy Boy and Pure Morning will be particularly special. 

Skrillex: Haven’t seen him performing live before, but I’m expecting great things! Again, no festival is complete without a lot of shacking out!

Initially, London Grammar were going to be performing on the Wednesday night of the festival. Unfortunately, lead singer Hannah has vocal fatigue, so they’ve had to cancel quite a few of their summer shows. But they’ve been replaced with…

Clean Bandit: As wonderful as it would have been to see London Grammar, I’m pretty excited to see Clean Bandit again. I got into them in early 2013, and have been in awe of just how rapidly they’ve gone from being virtually unknown, to global stardom, since the release of Rather Be at the start of this year. 

I’ve seen them perform a few times, namely Tate Britain in September ’13, a DJ set at Brixton’s Dogstar in October ’13 (oddly enough, me and my OH bumped into 2/4 of the band in Brixton before their set. Safe to say, I fan girled an awkward amount) Old Billingsgate Market in November ’13 and Shepherd’s Bush Empire in May ’14), but really wanted to see them at a festival – so Wednesday night will be amazing! Their debut album New Eyes has been my favourite summer soundtrack, so it’ll be great to round off two days of fun with such an upbeat band.

As well as music, there’s also loads of other activities throughout the week. From bubble blowing to balloon parties, and yoga to pilates… it’s definitely going to be one of the most epic festivals I’ve been to!

Leave a Reply

