October 18th

Until two years ago, this date had no significance.

Some people say that losing a parent is like losing a part of yourself. This is quite apt. When you lose someone that has had such a massive impact on your life, especially your Dad; occasions like anniversaries, birthdays, Christmas, and many other notable moments in your life, suddenly become a whole lot more significant. The impact that a parent, or any special person for that matter, has on your life becomes unbelievably prominent when they pass away.

However difficult these days may be – today especially – I am beginning to understand the importance of marking them and acknowledging them in some way, however tough it may be, in order to get through them. Whether that’s through reading, writing a blog, listening to music, or spending time with my loved ones. I’ve found a quote, a song, and a poem that are all very fitting today.

“There is something you must always remember: you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think” (a quote from a well-known book…possibly featuring a well-known bear)

“Death is Nothing at All”

I have only slipped away into the next room
I am I and you are you
Whatever we were to each other
That we are still
Call me by my old familiar name
Speak to me in the easy way you always used
Put no difference into your tone
Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow
Laugh as we always laughed
At the little jokes we always enjoyed together
Play, smile, think of me, pray for me
Let my name be ever the household word that it always was
Let it be spoken without effort
Without the ghost of a shadow in it
Life means all that it ever meant
It is the same as it ever was
There is absolute unbroken continuity
What is death but a negligible accident?
Why should I be out of mind
Because I am out of sight?
I am waiting for you for an interval
Somewhere very near
Just around the corner
All is well.
Nothing is past; nothing is lost
One brief moment and all will be as it was before
How we shall laugh at the trouble of parting when we meet again!

~ Canon Henry Scott-Holland, 1847-1918, Canon of St Paul’s Cathedral

Lastly, music is one of my main passions in life, so I thought I’d include a song that holds a lot of significance for today. It came out around early October 2012, and I found that the highly emotive lyrics really struck a chord with me in what was an extremely difficult time. It’s by a lovely Irish band called Kodaline:

2 responses to “October 18th

Leave a Reply

